2019 Stettenheim Award Winners: Mark Hauber & Phil Stouffer

In the lead-up to our annual meeting in Anchorage, we’ll be highlighting the winners of this year’s AOS awards on the blog. This week, the 2019 Peter R. Stettenheim Service Award.

In 2018, the American Ornithological Society (AOS) established the Peter R. Stettenheim Service Award, intended to carry on the tradition of the Cooper Honorary Member Award, one of the oldest awards in ornithology, which was discontinued when the Cooper Ornithological Society merged with the American Ornithologists’ Union to form AOS in 2016. This award is made in honor of a senior ornithologist who has provided extraordinary service to AOS. In 2019, the award is being presented jointly to Dr. Philip Stouffer and Dr. Mark Hauber.

Phil Stouffer was Associate Editor of The Auk from 2002 to 2013 and Editor-in-Chief of The Condor: Ornithological Applications from 2013 to 2019. As the focus of the journal changed from general ornithology to applied ornithology, Dr. Stouffer managed the transition smoothly, raising the impact factor of the journal to first place among ornithology journals worldwide in the process. In addition to his decade-long stint as an editor for the society’s journals, Dr. Stouffer also served as Scientific Program Chair for the North American Ornithological Congress in New Orleans in 2002 and has been a judge for Cooper Ornithological Society Student Presentation Awards and AOS Student Presentation Awards. Dr. Stouffer received his Ph.D. from Rutgers University in 1989 and is currently the Lee F. Mason Professor in the School of Renewable Natural Resources at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, LA.

Mark Hauber was Associate Editor of The Auk from 2009 to 2011 and Editor-in-Chief of The Auk: Ornithological Advances from 2013 to 2018. Like Dr. Stouffer, Dr. Hauber expertly marshalled The Aukthrough the change from a general journal of ornithology to a journal that focused on fundamental knowledge of birds and the examination of broad biological concepts through study of birds. In addition to his singular editorial contributions, Dr. Hauber has served as a member of the society’s Student Awards Committee, Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Communications Committee, and Publications Committee. He has been an outstanding advocate for diversity in the society, both raising awareness and encouraging participation. Dr. Hauber completed his Ph.D. at Cornell University in 2002 and is currently the Harley Jones Van Cleave Professor of Host-Parasite Interactions in the Department of Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior at the School of Integrative Biology of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL.

In recognition of their outstanding service to AOS publications, the society is proud to recognize Mark Hauber and Phil Stouffer as the second recipients of the Peter R. Stettenheim Service Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *