peter stettenheim, aos award namesake
Photo by Jim Block,

In 2018, AOS established the Stettenheim Award, a new service award meant to carry on the tradition of the Cooper Ornithological Society’s Cooper Honorary Member Award, one of the oldest awards in ornithology. The award recognizes an individual well established in their career who has performed outstanding and extensive service to AOS. This award celebrates members who may have served in elected or appointed positions, but also emphasizes volunteer contributions, mentoring, and committee participation. The award consists of a framed certificate and honorarium.

This AOS award honors Peter Stettenheim, an enthusiastic leader of both the American Ornithologists’ Union and the Cooper Ornithological Society who served in society governance and contributed in many ways to advance ornithology. Peter was a Life Member, Elective Member, and Fellow of the AOU, serving as a Council Member as well as Vice President (2001-2002). He was Editor of The Condor and Life Histories of the Birds of North America (a.k.a. Birds of North America), an Honorary Life Member of the Cooper Society, and a Patron and Investing Trustee of the Wilson Ornithological Society. Peter was a well-respected expert on avian anatomy and functional morphology but had a broad appreciation and interest in ornithology. He passed away in 2013 and was known by many of us as a kind and gentle giant. All award nominees are expected to have a high standard of ethical and social behavior that is strongly aligned with the AOS Code of Conduct & Ethics.

Submit a Nomination for the Stettenheim Award

Nominations for AOS Service Awards are currently closed.

Nominations must be submitted through our online Member Portal.

  • The page linked above will direct you to a login screen. If you have previously created an account in our Member Portal, enter your user name and password. After logging in, you will be redirected to the AOS Service Award nomination page.
  • If you have not previously created an account, click Register Now on the lower right to set up your profile.

To submit a nomination for the Stettenheim Award, you will need to upload a written summary describing why the nominee should be recognized with the award.

Previous Stettenheim Award Winners

2023   Scott Lanyon
2022   Melinda Pruett-Jones
2021   Fred Sheldon
2020   Susan Haig
2019   Phil Stouffer & Mark Hauber
2018   Anna Chalfoun

Winners of the Cooper Honorary Member Award

2016   Carla Cicero
2016   Jeffrey F. Kelly
2015   Brett K. Sandercock
2015   Susan K. Skagen
2014   Abby N. Powell
2013   Katie M. Dugger
2013   Mercedes S. Foster
2013   Michael A. Patten
2012   No recipient
2011   No recipient
2010   Carl Marti
2010   Thomas Martin
2009   No recipient
2008   Fritz Knopf
2008   Blair Wolf
2007   Kimberly A. Sullivan
2006   Bonnie S. Bowen
2006   David S. Dobkin
2006   Eileen M. Kirsch
2005   Barbara E. Kus
2005   Martin G. Raphael
2004   No recipient
2003   Theresa Bucher
2003   John Rotenberry
2002   Walt Koenig
2001   Shelia Mahoney
2001   K. Michael Scott
2000   Stephen Russell
1999   No recipient
1998   Terrell D. Rich
1997   No recipient
1996   Glenn E. Walsberg
1995   Luis F. Baptista
1995   Richard F. Johnston
1995   Edwin O. Willis
1994   Elsie C. Collias
1994   Charles T. Collins
1993   Sandra L. Gaunt
1993   Dennis M. Power
1993   Charles Van Riper III
1992   Richard C. Banks
1992   John W. Hardy
1991   Russell R. Balda
1991   Lloyd R. Kiff
1991   Jared Verner
1990   Joseph R. Jehl, Jr.
1990   Martin L. Morton
1990   C.J. Ralph

1989   Elizabeth A. Schreiber
1989   Ralph W. Schreiber
1988   George A. Bartholomew
1988   Lois Chambers Stone
1987   John T. Emlen
1987   Ned K. Johnson
1987   James R. Nothern
1986   Howard L. Cogswell
1985   Peter Stettenheim
1984   Robert W. Storer
1983   William R. Dawson
1982   Keith L. Dixon
1981   Nicholas E. Collias
1979   James G. Miller
1979   Oliver P. Pearson
1978   Harold F. Mayfield
1976   Ralph J. Raitt
1975   James R. King
1974   Wilson C. Hanna
1974   Eben McMillan
1974   Ian McMillan
1974   Virginia D. Miller
1973   Dean Amadon
1973   Jane R. Durham
1972   L. Richard Mewaldt
1972   Kenneth E. Stager
1971   Enid K. Austin
1970   Barbara Blanchard DeWolfe
1970   Donald S. Farner
1970   Marquis Y. Yamashina
1969   Herbert Friedmann
1969   Robert T. Orr
1969   Erwin Stresemann
1968   William H. Behle
1968   Thomas R. Howell
1967   John Davis
1965   Theed Pearse
1963   Hildegarde Howard
1963   Frank A. Pitelka
1963   John G. Tyler
1962   Jack C. Von Bloeker, Jr.
1960   Jean Delacour
1960   Ed. N. Harrison
1960   W.J. Sheffler
1960   Alexander F. Skutch
1958   Junea W. Kelly
1957   C.V. Duff
1956   Jean M. Linsdale

1956   Alden H. Miller
1956   Alexander Wetmore
1955   A. Brazier Howell
1953   Chester C. Lamb
1952   Walter K. Fisher
1952   Clark P. Streator
1950   Harry Harris
1950   Robert T. Moore
1949   Annie M. Alexander
1949   Henry W. Carriger
1949   Stanley G. Jewett
1949   J.R. Pemberton
1949   John Robertson
1949   Fred A. Schneider
1948   Rollo H. Beck
1948   Louis B. Bishop
1947   Joseph F. Dixon
1947   Hilda Wood Grinnell
1947   Harry R. Painton
1943   Howard Robertson
1942   Harold Michener
1942   Josephine R. Michener
1942   George Willett
1940   William A. Bryan
1936   Allan Brooks
1936   W. Lee Chambers
1936   Loye H. Miller
1933   Arthur C. Bent
1932   Alfred W. Anthony
1932   Albert M. Ingersoll
1931   Charles W. Richmond
1929   J. Eugene Law
1929   Theodore S. Palmer
1926   Carton W. Evermann
1924   Albert K. Fisher
1924   Joseph Mailliard
1922   G. Frean Morcom
1920   Florence M. Bailey
1917   Edward W. Nelson
1912   Frank Stephens
1910   Joel A. Allen
1910   Foster Ellenborough Lascelles
1909   Henry W. Henshaw
1909   Clinton H. Merriam
1905   Robert Ridgway
1898   Walter E. Bryant
1886   Lyman Belding
1886   James G. Cooper