All AOS members are invited to submit nominations for open positions on the AOS Council, the Society’s governing body. This year the Society will elect four Elective Councilors and the officers of President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer. Nominations can be submitted by AOS members through the AOS Member Portal. Please review our guidelines below before nominating members for AOS Council.

The Council is the central decision-making body of AOS. The Council’s focus is on strategic direction, policy, budget, and effective organizational planning. The Council monitors and strengthens the organization’s programs and services to advance the society’s mission. AOS is governed by its board of management, the Council. The Council consists of voting and non-voting members and officers elected to serve on the Council of AOS.

Currently, the voting members of Council are the four officers (President, President-Elect, Treasurer, and Secretary), twelve Elective Councilors, and the four most recent past presidents. Additional ex officio members of Council include the AOS Executive Director, the two Editors in Chief of AOS’s journals, the Chair of AOS’s Investing Trustees Committee, and other past presidents. There is also a non-voting student representative on Council.


The Executive Director makes day-to-day decisions related to administrative, financial, and operational activities of AOS, and the Executive Committee is responsible for the ongoing business and programmatic activities of AOS between Council meetings and as needs arise. AOS’s Fellows approve all changes to the Bylaws.  

AOS Council Nominations

Nominations for AOS Council are currently closed. Any Member in good standing may nominate persons for President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and Elective Councilors. Nominations should be submitted through the AOS Member Portal.

Nominations for AOS Officers and Elective Councilors must be received by the AOS Secretary four months before the Stated Meeting. Nominations may be submitted in writing or electronically. Officers are elected by electronic and postal ballot prior to the annual meeting, and new officers are announced at the meeting. The AOS Bylaws require that the Secretary and Treasurer be elected or re-elected annually. Of the total of twelve Elective Councilors, four are elected annually to serve terms of approximately three years, beginning at the close of the Stated Meeting. The procedure for nominating AOS Officers and Elective Councilors is outlined in the AOS Bylaws (Art IV, Sec 2).

AOS Officers & Elective Councilors

Current Council Member Biographies

Contact the Executive Committee of Council at


Michael Webster (2020–2022)

Colleen Handel (2020–2022)

Andrew Jones (2014– )

Matthew Carling (2021– )

Executive Director
Judith Scarl


Terms ending 2024
Emily Cohen
Daizaburo Shizuka

Jennifer Walsh

Terms ending 2023
Alice Boyle
Carlos Daniel Cadena
Courtney Conway
Morgan Tingley

Terms ending 2022
Sara Kaiser
Erica Nol
Lauryn Benedict
Kristen Ruegg

Past Presidents

Kathy Martin
Steven Beissinger
Scott Lanyon
Martin Raphael

Bonnie Bowen
Erica Dunn
Susan Haig

James Kushlan
John Fitzpatrick
Frank Moore

Dennis Power
C. John Ralph
Terry Rich
John Rotenberry
J. Michael Scott
Kimberly Sullivan

Ex Officio

Catherine Lindell, Editor-in-Chief
Ornithological Applications

T. Scott Sillett, Editor-in-Chief

Jennifer Owen, Investing Trustee

Nominate AOS Officers and Elective Councilors

Must be an AOS member