About the Conservation Committee

Identifies and implements appropriate means for the AOS to promote sound ornithological science for making conservation and management decisions for birds. Among its activities are organizing symposia of conservation interest at annual meetings, and engaging in science arbitration, which involves evaluating the science relevant to an issue and providing the results to decision-makers.


Pete Marra
Pete Marra
Anna Chalfoun
Anna Chalfoun


Jeff Brawn
Andrew Cox
Camila Gomez
Cara Joos
Sarah Kendrick
Christopher Lepczyk

Scott Loss
Alejandra Martinez
Patty McGill
Nicole Michel
Arvind Panjabi
Ken Rosenberg

Kristen Ruegg
Angeline Ruiz Sanchez
Stan Senner
Jeff Walters

New in 2023!

AOS Latin American/Caribbean Conservation Research Awards

The Conservation Committee of the American Ornithological Society (AOS) is dedicated to the study and conservation of migratory and resident birds throughout their full annual life cycle, and supporting the research endeavors and career development of student/early-career scientists in areas with a lower availability of research funding. 

Accordingly, the AOS Conservation Committee has initiated a small grants program to support student/early-career scientists from Latin America and the Caribbean conducting conservation-related research on either migratory or resident birds in those regions.

Learn more and apply.


Anna Chalfoun, Conservation Committee co-chair: achalfou@uwyo.edu
Pete Marra, Conservation Committee co-chair: Peter.Marra@georgetown.edu
Jeff Walters, Science Arbitration lead: jrwalt@vt.edu