ralph schreiber, aos award namesake

The AOS Schreiber Award honors extraordinary conservation-related scientific contributions by an individual or small team. The award is named for Ralph Schreiber, a prominent figure in American ornithology known for his enthusiasm, energy, and dedication to research and conservation, particularly of seabirds.

Contributions from throughout the world and over any time course are eligible for this award, which consists of a framed certificate and an honorarium. Activities may include: applied research, restoration, and educational actions that conserve birds, or preserve significant bird habitats; scientific examination of the principles of avian conservation and application of new insights into species restoration; and/or scientific evaluation, guidance, creation, and oversight of avian recovery programs or habitat reserve/restoration programs.

Schreiber Award Nomination Guidelines

Before submitting a nomination, please review the lists of previous recipients below. In recognition of the large number of ornithologists making outstanding contributions to our science, the AOS Council recommends that the Schreiber Award not be conferred upon the same individual more than once. However, under exceptional circumstances the Council may consider and approve a nomination to confer a second award to an individual, if the new work to be recognized (1) involves a substantially different problem in ornithology than was recognized by the first award and (2) is of significantly greater quality than the work of other eligible ornithologists who have not yet been recognized with the award. An individual nominee for the Schreiber Award must be a member of AOS at the time of nomination; in the case of a team nomination, at least one member of the team must be a member of the society at the time of their nomination.

Submit a Nomination

Nominations for AOS Senior Professional Awards are open through 15 November 2022.

Nominations must be submitted through our online Member Portal.

  • The page linked above will direct you to a login screen. If you have previously created an account in our Member Portal, enter your user name and password. After logging in, you will be redirected to the Senior Professional Award nomination page.
  • If you have not previously created an account, click Register Now on the lower right to set up your profile.

To submit a nomination for the Schreiber Award, you will need to upload 1) a written summary (no more than 2 pages) describing the nominee’s contributions to ornithology and why they should be recognized with the award, and 2) a current CV of the nominee.

Previous Schreiber Award Recipients

2022   David Ainley, Senior Ecologist with HT Harvey & Associates and Point Blue Conservation Science; & Lindsay Young and Eric VanderWerf of Pacific Rim Conservation
2021   Francesca J. Cuthbert; & The Bird Ecology Group of the Faculty of Biology, University of Havana, Cuba led by Martin Acosta Cruz
2020   Jaime Collazo
2019   José Maria Cardoso da Silva
2018   John Sauer
2017   Daniel Roby
2016   John W. Fitzpatrick
2015   Joseph Wunderle

2014   Stephen Kress
2013   Sheila Conant
2012   Paul A. Johnsgard
2011   Robert S. Ridgely
2010   Northern Spotted Owl Long-Term Demography Research Team: Robert G. Anthony, Lowell V. Diller, Eric D. Forsman, Alan B. Franklin, Ralph J. Guttierrez, Dale R. Herter, J. Mark Higley, Joseph B. Lint, Charles Meslow
2009   Scott R. Derrickson
2008   Daniel W. Anderson
2007   Carl E. Bock and Jane H. Bock
2006   J. Michael Scott
2005   Thomas E. Lovejoy III

Nominate yourself or a colleague for recognition

Must be an AOS Member to submit